Tiling-Cubical Solids : Felted Platters-Wooden Boxes

My crafty side needed attention. Hence the following.

Here are some boxes I made out of Port Orford Cedar and Combed Cedar siding. The cube has a sliding dowel hidden latch so it must be oriented in a certain position for the lid to open:

Two Wooden Boxes without Tops
Broad Wooden Box with Top and Wooden Cube

Broad Wooden Box with Top and Wooden Cube with Lid

I also experimented with monotiling felted platters. Here is the first true aperiodic monotile done in felt. The tiles need to be cut precisely to fit well and cutting felt (old scraps of army blankets) that carefully is nearly impossible. ”Adjustments” can be seen. Since cutting the entire figures involved cutting concavities, I assembled the shapes from kite-like figures. I had only two colors so the final image is not so satisfying.

Aperiodic Monotiling in Felt on a Circular Platter

Here is a pentagonal tiling that is on the obverse side of the above platter. Again precision was difficult and “adjustments” can be seen.

Pentagonal Monotiling in Felt on a Circular Platter

The following are other patterns I made.

Sierpinski Triangles on a Felted Platter
Four Big Squares and a Small Square on a Felted Platter
Square in the Middle of a Felted Platter
Checker Board Pattern on a Felted Platter

Finally some coasters I made with felt. These have the advantages of gripping the table and the glass robustly. Also the white rims make them easy to find in dim light, say watching TV at night.

Four Felted Coasters with White Rims

About jrh794

I am a seventy-five year old retired math instructor. I was at Southern Oregon University for twelve years. I had taught at the College of the Siskiyous in Weed California for twenty-six years. Prior to that I worked as a computer programmer, carpenter and in various other jobs. I graduated from Rice University in 1967 and have a MS in Operations Research from Stanford. In the past I have hand-built a stone house and taken long solo bicycle tours. Now I ride my mountain bike and play golf, go and bridge for recreation.
This entry was posted in Math Explorations, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Tiling-Cubical Solids : Felted Platters-Wooden Boxes

  1. suszannna says:

    Say Jim – Hope you’re doing well. Great, you made a few cedar boxes! They no doubt have that signature cedar scent and craftsmanship. Would you consider making another small box with a top for sale?

    Best of holidays, Susan

Leave a comment