The Joy of Explaining

I always review my lecture notes the day before I cover the material.  Besides simply re-familiarizing myself with the topic, I get to sleep on it.  When I wake up the next morning or possibly in the middle of the night, new ideas are often floating around in my head,  thus to be bluntly direct about it, leveraging my sleeping hours.

I have only one lecture to give today and no significant other tasks to complete so my last night’s sleeping mind was free to “concentrate,” if that is the right word, on my upcoming class.  Specifically my idea, which I have used previously, was to prime my students by simplifying algebra expressions with single letter variables before simplifying expressions with sines and cosines, not the entire simplification just the difficult parts.  I know which parts from experience.  Nothing earth shattering but I think this technique will be telling.

The mental process of rehearsal and the anticipation I feel (I can’t wait to get to class) resulted this morning in a pleasant twinge of  joy – the joy of explaining.

About jrh794

I am a sixty-five year old math instructor at Southern Oregon University. I taught at the College of the Siskiyous in Weed California for twenty-six years. Prior to that I worked as a computer programmer, carpenter and in various other jobs. I graduated from Rice University in 1967 and have a MS in Operations Research from Stanford. In the past I have hand-built a stone house and taken long solo bicycle tours. Now I ride my mountain bike and play golf for recreation.
This entry was posted in Pedagogy, Teaching and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Joy of Explaining

  1. Pingback: We Value the Joy | Working in Adult Literacy

Leave a Reply

