Can’t Sleep – Try Mental Math

One night recently I woke up and could not go to sleep again.  I decided to distract my brain with some mental math and try to trick myself into going back to sleep.  The calculation 365 \times 67 came naturally to mind since the product would be the number of days I was alive on my 67th birthday.  Here is the series of calculations that I performed.

Mental Math Example

Later I checked my answer of Wolfram Alpha (It will calculate the difference between two dates).  It was 24472.  Exactly right.  And no I still couldn’t go back to sleep so I got up and read for a couple of hours.

About jrh794

I am a sixty-five year old math instructor at Southern Oregon University. I taught at the College of the Siskiyous in Weed California for twenty-six years. Prior to that I worked as a computer programmer, carpenter and in various other jobs. I graduated from Rice University in 1967 and have a MS in Operations Research from Stanford. In the past I have hand-built a stone house and taken long solo bicycle tours. Now I ride my mountain bike and play golf for recreation.
This entry was posted in Math and Me. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

