A Year of Nights with Wondering – II

“Old History”

I noticed one of my afternoon students  coming into my morning room for his next class.   I asked what he as taking.  He said, “History.”  I asked, “What kind of history?”  He said, “Old history.”   We laughed. It transpired that he was taking a course on ancient civilization.

With the help of a thesaurus we can come up with all kinds of interesting history courses.  Aged history, broken-down history, over-the-hill history say.  Or middle-aged history – not to be confused with the history of the middle ages.   New history has a nice ring to it.  We could take a class in  fresh history or young history or youthful history.  Is there a  neonatal history?  Does history have the terrible-twos or the curious-threes?  And what exactly is prehistoric history?

About jrh794

I am a sixty-five year old math instructor at Southern Oregon University. I taught at the College of the Siskiyous in Weed California for twenty-six years. Prior to that I worked as a computer programmer, carpenter and in various other jobs. I graduated from Rice University in 1967 and have a MS in Operations Research from Stanford. In the past I have hand-built a stone house and taken long solo bicycle tours. Now I ride my mountain bike and play golf for recreation.
This entry was posted in Classroom Happenings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

